ⓘ Chakra. A chakra is an energy center in the human body as taught in Indian yoga and some related cultures. Chakras are also believed in by some New Age adherent ..


ⓘ Chakra

A chakra is an energy center in the human body as taught in Indian yoga and some related cultures. Chakras are also believed in by some New Age adherents. Chakra means Aneel or wheel in Sanskrit.

A chakra is an area in the body connected with life energy. There are seven chakras in the body - each is an interface for the flow of life energy. A chakra vitalizes a physical body and is associated with interactions of a physical or mental nature. Current science is not able to detect or measure chakras.


1. Definitions

Although there are various interpretations as to what exactly a chakra is, the following features are common in all systems:

  • They are generally associated with a mantra seed-syllable, and often with a variety of colours and deities.
  • They are located along a central nadi, Sushumna, which runs either alongside or inside the spine.
  • Two other nadis, Ida and Pingala, also run through the chakras, and alongside Sushumna. They occasionally cross Sushumna at the location of the chakras.
  • They form part of a subtle energy body, along with the energy channels, or nadis, and the subtle winds, or pranas.
  • They possess a number of petals or spokes. In some traditions, such as the Tibetan, these spokes branch off into the thousands of nadis that run throughout the human body.

2. Types of Chakras

The seven main chakras are described as being present in an ascending column from the base of the spine to the head. The chakras are usually connected with a certain color. Each chakra is also connected with some part of consciousness.

The following seven primary chakras are commonly described:

  • Anahata Heart Chakra heart area
  • Vishuddha Throat Chakra throat and neck area
  • Muladhara Base or Root Chakra ovaries/prostate
  • Swadhisthana Sacral Chakra last bone in spinal cord, the coccyx
  • Sahasrara Crown Chakra top of the head; soft spot of a newborn
  • Manipura Solar Plexus Chakra navel area
  • Ajna Brow or Third Eye Chakra pineal gland or third eye
  • Chakras
  • Third eye chakra Ajna
  • Solar plexus chakra Manipura
  • Navel chakra Swadhisthana
  • Crown chakra Sahasrara
  • Throat chakra Vishuddha
  • Heart chakra Anahata
  • Root chakra Muladhara
  • The Param Vir Chakra PVC is India s highest military decoration awarded for the highest degree of valour or self - sacrifice in the presence of the enemy
  • The Ashoka Chakra Award is India s highest peacetime military decoration or award for courageous action or self - sacrificing away from the battlefield.
  • The Sudarshana Chakra स दर शन चक र is a spinning, disk - like weapon literally meaning disk of auspicious vision, having 108 serrated edges used by the
  • The Shri Yantra or Sri Chakra of Tripura Sundari is a yantra or mandala formed by nine interlocking triangles surrounding a dot in the cetner called a
  • is a blue wheel, which is called the Ashoka Chakra It has 24 spokes and it stands for progress.The Chakra or the wheel also symbolizes the Power of the
  • red is shown as being the color which represents the first muladhara chakra in Hindu philosophy. List of colors Maerz and Paul A Dictionary of Color
  • Sundarbans In Islam, Sirajul ed. Banglapedia: national chakra encyclopedia of Bangladesh chakra Dhaka: Asiatic Society of Bangladesh. ISBN 984 - 32 - 0576 - 6
  • the bottom of their spine, in the first chakra If it ever wakes up, it climbs the spine and the other chakras and the whole body and mind of the person
  • in 1983. During the Indo - Pakistani War of 1971, he was awarded the Vir Chakra for his command of the INS Kamorta. The admiral was also known as the Father
  • around the heads of holy people is a depiction of their activated crown chakra Halos are visual phenomena that appear near or around the Sun or Moon